#3 A Scavenger Hunt For Birthday Present

It was April 1st, 2011.

Zhang was unhappy. He blamed his parents for having a baby on April Fools’ Day. He walked to his seat. Again, he received a lot of “presents”;  however, he figured they were more likely to be a mischief than actual birthday gifts. He sighed and put everything away, and he noticed something stood out.

There was a note lying on his desk. It said, “Come to the front door of the classroom at 1pm.”

Another trick. That was his first thought. But then he realized something different on the back of the note.

图片1

A map.

Too elaborate for a trick, wasn’t it?

He decided to play along.

 

Then it came to 1pm. Zhang stood at the front door of classroom.

Of course, no one came. He felt like an idiot.

It was at the moment he slammed the door, leaving, when he saw a note stuck to the back of the door.

“After class, (5, 8), No. 7”

图片3

 

What?

He was not stupid. He could locate the point on the plane coordinate system. The question was where…

After comparing to the real map, he went to another building and found room 7.

“Right on time.” I greeted him with a big smile.

“You came to my seat,” he seemed a little mad of me, “and you leave me a damn note!”

“Guilty as charged.” I gave my present to him.

He grabbed his gift, complaining, “You could have just given me the present then. Save trouble for both of us.”

图片4“I could have,” I tried hard not to laugh, “but what’s the fun in that?”

“At least I wouldn’t have had to cross half of the school to find you. And why were  you waiting for me in front of a shop?”

“It’s a secret. The point is…You enjoyed this.”

“I did… I guess you are right.”

“Happy April Fool’s Day!”

“And?”

“And… Happy birthday!”

 

I will never tell him all this trouble is just because I forget his birthday and then improvised in order to buy myself some time to prepare his birthday present.


2 thoughts on “#3 A Scavenger Hunt For Birthday Present

    1. It doesn’t have to be mystery novels😏. There are lots of small tricks in everyday lives😉. People can really do everything to make their friends happy. Just as Mark Twain said, “Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn’t.”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

